Education System in Uzbekistan

The school education in Uzbekistan is distributed over two phases: The first phase of school education delivers 9 year of compulsory education. Second phase offers education and vocational programmes after 9 years of compulsory schooling. It includes general secondary education and specialized secondary education. Students complete general secondary education in school for the tenth and eleventh grades. Upon successful completion a Certificate of Complete Secondary Education is awarded.

Specialized secondary education in Uzbekistan is delivered by a network of schools:
  • PTU or Professional Technical School: Students receive a Junior Specialist Diploma equal to a Certificate of Complete Secondary Education.
  • Technical College: Students receive a Junior Specialist Diploma equal to a Certificate of Complete Secondary Education.
  • Lyceum: Students receive a Junior Specialist Diploma or Diploma of Academic Lyceum equal to a Certificate of Complete Secondary Education.
The earlier educational system in Uzbekistan required 11 years of compulsory schooling. In 1992 the policy decision was made to change from 11 to 9 years of compulsory education. After nine years of compulsory education, students can prepare for higher education in tenth or eleventh grade or turn to vocational training. 

After completion of any type of secondary education general or vocational an individual can enter a higher education institution to obtain a bachelor's degree and continue study towards a master's or doctoral degree.

In general, the Uzbekistan education system includes:
  • Preschool training (preprimary-from three to six years old)
  • General secondary education (from 6 to 15 years old)
  • Secondary vocational education (from 15 to 18 years old)
  • Higher education (undergraduate and graduate-from 18 years old).
The academic year in Uzbekistan begins on 2 September (the first of September is the Independence Day) or the first working day of September.

The academic grading system of Uzbekistan is numerical. The highest grade is 5 (excellent = A), then follows 4 (good = B), 3 (satisfactory = C), and 2 (unsatisfactory = F). One is never used. Final grades are determined by test scores, papers, attendance, and class participation.
Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...
  • No Articles to display

Know More »

  • No Press Releases to display

Know More »

Uzbekistan Select a Country

Our Network :